What kind of jobs am I suited for? Personalities & Professions

Qualifications? I have my bachelor’s degree. Skills? No problem, I’m trained for the task. Experience? Got that too. So think you’re set for the job? Not quite, there’s an X Factor which you should consider. Think of it as a central puzzle piece. When you find it, the picture becomes clearer. People, we’re talking about personality!

By JOSH RAYAN

Possessing the right qualifications, skills and experience are crucial to job success. But your character and personality traits are crucial to determining whether you’ll cruise along smoothly on the career track; or chug painfully slow with the handbrake pulled up. Or worse, you may get derailed! Yet, many people don’t even consider the character factor let alone understand it. They jump into jobs that clash with their personalities. The result – job dissatisfaction and frustration as well as job burn-out before their time. Instead of taking the express coach on the railroad to success, they’re trapped on the train to nowhere.

If you can match your personality with your profession, you’ll be much happier and your prospects will shine brighter. So where’s the best place to start looking for a job? The Classifieds? At a recruitment agency? Or at notice boards? You should start with yourself. Your ‘job journey’ starts with you.

The personality factor is becoming increasingly important in hiring decisions for most of our clients, multinationals and blue chip companies,” says Chong See Ming, Head of Communications, at a leading employment consultancy. “The more ‘engaging’ or fitting the candidates’ personality, the better their chances of building and managing positive and beneficial relationships with employees, clients, suppliers, the media and other stakeholders,” she clarifies.